Assigning Help Desk Tickets

Click on ticket number to access file with detailed pictures to go with instructions.

When tickets come in through the GS Help Desk site on the BigWebApps Ticket System, they need to be assigned to the right technician or developer. There is a flow chart to help know which technician/developer works with which locations/projects. If you are not sure of a ticket and who to assign it to, ask one of the technicians/developers. They will always help out with answering your questions and figuring out who the ticket should be assigned to. Below is a screenshot of what the BigWebApps Ticket System looks like when you open it up and login.

 

The Queues you need to monitor are the Government Services Queue and the Government Services Order Requests Queue. (See arrows below).

Tickets will come into the Help Desk site on a daily basis. You will have the site open all day so you can monitor it but you will also get emails when a ticket comes in. Below is a screen shot of the Government Services Queue with tickets before they are assigned.

Click on the ticket to open it. Below is a screenshot of what the ticket looks like when it is first opened, before you have made any changes. (The arrows indicate the areas that need to be changed, with the exception of the location, which may or may not have to be updated).

 

Before assigning the ticket to a technician, you will need to add a class and a creation category. You will also need to verify that the ticket has the correct location. (See arrows above, indicating these areas). Someone may be working from Ridgeland, but be working on a problem that is really for NY. You will want to change the location to NY. If there is no location assigned, you will need to figure out what the person is working on and where they are located to determine which location to assign.

In order to make changes to these fields, you will need to click on the word – either location, class or creation category. This will bring you to a screen where you can make the updates. On the location screen, you will make the change and click “assign selected location”. For the class and the creation category, you will choose the type of ticket you are working (from a drop down list), choose the correct one and click save. Below is a screenshot of what your ticket will look like once these changes have been applied. (See arrows).

 

 

 

Next, you will need to assign the ticket to the proper technician or developer. Click on the transfer button at the top of the ticket. Below is a screenshot of what the screen will look like before any changes are made.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Always check the bow next to “Keep Government Services Queue attached to this ticket”. This way, we know the status of the ticket. Next to the transfer to technician button, you will click on the dropdown arrow. This will give you a list of people or other queues that you can assign the ticket to. Below is a screenshot of how the transfer page will look once you have made the updates. Click on the submit transfer button. This will send the ticket to the person or queue you assigned it to.

 

There will also be tickets that you will have to close once the issue has been resolved.  To close the ticket, you will need to be in that ticket. Once you are I the ticket, you will want to hit the close out button at the top. See screenshot below.

If the ticket is one of your own, you will need to change the status to resolved and the resolved reason to one of the choices in the drop down. Once the updates have been made, you will click on close ticket.

If the ticket is not assigned to you but you know that it is one that you can close, you will follow the same steps as above except when you go to close the ticket it will say “transfer ticket to me and close”. You will click this button. See screenshot below and arrows indicating the fields that need to be updated. You can put notes in the “Closure notes” box if you would like to.

The above screenshot shows the ticket with the changes made that need to be done prior to closing. (With the exception of the Closure Notes box which you can do if you want to but is not necessary).

 

Below is the message you will get once the ticket has been properly closed.

Once in a while, you will get a ticket that needs to be assigned to another Department’s Queue. You will do all the same steps as you would for one of our tickets except when it comes time to assign it. Here, instead of assigning it to one of our technician’s or developer’s, you will choose the Queue for the group that will need to work on the ticket.

 I found this article helpful. (0)

Leave a Response

Your Name   

Email Address